Tags

“When words could not convey my ideas, I could always point to one of Ralph’s fabulous illustrations and say, ‘Do it like this.” – George Lucas.

Mr Mc Quarrie was the conceptual design artist on the original Star Wars Trilogy, Close Encounters of the Third Kind and E.T. to name just a few. These films were hugely important in my own youth fuelling my own creativity and imaginative life  which sparking the passion for cinema, comic books and illustration. These movies; the fantastical worlds, characters and images contained within owe a huge debt to Mc Quarrie’s contribution. Without his talent, no doubt Lucas and Steven Spielberg’s visions would have suffered for it and there is little doubt that my own formative years would have felt somewhat deprived of a sense of magic and wonder.

